About Contact Privacy Policy
Home / Sanmukhi Mudra 4 | Yoga For Negativity

Sanmukhi Mudra 4 | Yoga For Negativity

Meditative - Aug - 2020 1295 views
Sanmukhi Mudra 4

What Is Sanmukhi Mudra 4 ?

Also known as Half Frog Pose. San meaning is six and mukha meaning the mouth. Sanmukha referees to the name of the six-headed god of war, also known as Kartikeya. Mudra means a seal or closing up. The posture is also called Parangmukhi' Mudra (facing inwards), Sambhavi' Mudra (Sambhu is the name of Siva, father of Kartikeya), also as Yoni Mudra. Yoni means the womb, the source. The mudra is so called because the aspirant looks within himself to find the very source of his being Sanmukhi Mudra 4 details provided to you by YogaIQ.

Step By Step Sanmukhi Mudra 4 Yoga

1. Sit in Padmasana. (Step 1) Keep the spine straight and the head level.

2. Lift the hands to the face. Hold the elbows to the level of the shoulders, place the thumbs on the ear-holes so as to cut off external sounds. If the thumbs in the ear-hole cause pain, push the tragus (the small prominence at the entrance of the external ear) over the earholes and push it with the thumbs.

3. Close the eyelids, but turn the eyes up. Put the index and middle fingers on the closed lids so that the first two phalanges only press the entire eyeball. Do not, press the cornea. Pull the eyelids down with the middle finger. Push the upper part of the eyelids below the eyebrow upwards with the index fingers. Gently press the eyes at both the corners.

4. Equal weight should be maintained on the ears and the eyes.

5. With the tips of the ring fingers push both nostrils equally. The nasal passages are thus narrowed for slow, deep, steady, rhythmic and subtle breathing.

6. The little fingers are placed on the upper lip where they can check the rhythmic flow of the breath.

7. Hold this posture as long as you can, drawing the vision inwards. (Step 2)

Benefit Of Sanmukhi Mudra 4 Yoga

The senses are turned inwards and the rhythmic breathing calms the mind's wandering. This brings a feeling of inner peace and one hears the divine voice of his self within, ‘look within, for the source of all peace is within yourself’.Through Sanmukhi Mudra Agna chakra is stimulated. Sanmukhi Mudra thus prepares the practitioner for the fifth stage of yoga, Pratyahara, where he attempts to free himself from the thraldom of the senses and to prevent them from running after their desires.

Images for Sanmukhi Mudra 4 steps

  • Sanmukhi Mudra 4 step 1
  • Sanmukhi Mudra 4 step 2